BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/index.php)
-   250cc and Above Engine Tech (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Horiizonatal shaft or GY6 Type Engine Better (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2728)

robertnoble 02-25-2012 11:56 AM

Horiizonatal shaft or GY6 Type Engine Better

Hi, I am new to all of this. I have my buggy about together and now I am doubting the motor setup that I have chosen. I have a Duromax 400cc 16hp with a polraris trailboss transmission, f,n,r, and running a comet 40 convertor. The downfall is only 3600 rpms unless I take out the governor. What do you suggest. Getting a higher rpm turning 250cc I am really confused. Please help. If so, where do you buy these engines. Thanks so much.. Robert

xlint89 02-25-2012 10:08 PM

What kind of buggy do you have?

robertnoble 02-26-2012 11:48 AM

Custom Built

1 Attachment(s)
Here is a pic. I am a race car guy and fabricate. This is my buggy that is almost complete but now having doubts about motor. It will weigh about 300 lbs.

x-bird 02-26-2012 02:22 PM

I think it's going to come down to what your riding style is. Do you want a lot of top end power for more flatlanding/rolling hilly terrain or bottom end grunt for steep hills, rough terrain, slower riding. The former is more suited for motorcycle engines with a higher rev range and the latter for lawnmower type (your duromax). Given that you have a drivetrain basically ready to go, I'd try it first before second guessing yourself. 16 hp is going to provide you with a good power to weight ratio. I'd bypass 250 and go right to around 400cc if you do change paths.

metalstudman1 02-26-2012 08:23 PM