BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/index.php)
-   Mini Buggy General Discussion (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   any manco suggestions (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1467)

billu427 01-13-2011 09:44 AM

any manco suggestions

Hi All . I just picked up a manco IntruderII model#607c ,It has the 7hp robin subaru motor . It needs a cluch And I wanted to find the strongest cluch out there plus I need more power and wanted some advice on if i can or should try to beef up the 7 or just stuff a bigger motor in it .Any advice would be appreciated , I'm new to the gocart scene & don't quite know where to start my parts search. Thanks

BuggyMaster 01-13-2011 03:26 PM

Seems to me that those have a torque converter on them, right?

billu427 01-13-2011 03:33 PM

yes you are correct , Like I said Just picked it up dont know Alot about it yet The sproket looks very worn on it

BuggyMaster 01-13-2011 03:39 PM

Those engines that they put on there are some of the most reliable made. Fantastic engines. They have a comet 30 series torque converter. Most torque converters don't get the proper maintenance that they need. I would try to clean up those pieces as best I could and see how usable they are.

Regarding a bigger engine, what people don't think about is that a bigger engine isn't necesarrily going to give you more speed. Will it get you up to speed quicker? Sure but when you get to the bigger engines, in most cases the RPM is governed even lower than the 7hp engine so you will wind up going slower!!! Now granted, bigger engines are how you make it burn the tires off with their abundant torque.