BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/index.php)
-   FrankenBuggy Tech (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   a little help.... (http://www.buggymasters.com/forum/showthread.php?t=648)

username 03-20-2010 12:41 AM

a little help....

Okay please forgive me i am new to building gokarts and new to this forum...

I am taking a yerf dog that had front suspension only and a live axle and a little single seater gokart with out a live axle and making them one. I have a blue clone motor that i plan to modify decently. I am taking the axles off the yerf dog both front and back and put them on the small single seater so that i can use the wide rims of the yerf dog and the live axle. My question is what size axle is on the yerf dog, is it a 1" with a 1/4" key way ? I know it has 60t sprocket on it. Is there a formula to figure out what size sprocket to get to get for more top end? I also have a 15x6 tire at the moment i want to go with a very low profile slick style tire what is a good tire size to get? Sorry if this is confusing, if it is please let me know i will try to reword it. Thanks for the help.

KID4LIFE 03-20-2010 08:25 AM

i have a yerf dog 3203 that i have replaced the axle on. mine is 1" diamteter w/ a 1/4" key. if you have a different model kart i'm not sure if the axles would be same diameter. have you tried googling your model number for a parts manual on-line? there is still some decent info out there on these karts.
good luck with the project.:)
Dave

username 03-20-2010 10:17 AM

No i cant find a model number on it nor do i have a book on it. i bought the gokart for 25$ from a customer. Is there an online location that is best to purchase parts from?

KID4LIFE 03-20-2010 04:07 PM

in ohio, there is a yerf dog parts distributor named BMI karts. the web site is *************