BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > Other tech issues

Other tech issues For all other technical issues. Think frame, suspension, steering, brakes, etc

Old 10-06-2012, 09:04 AM

Default Whatcha think?

So i was just wondering, has anyone else tried this "redneck ramiar" on there buggy's or is this a first for me?
Old 10-06-2012, 03:45 PM
Lite Contributor

I haven't tried it yet but plan to. I'm gonna do it a lil different tho. I'm gonna make a roof outa high density plastic, and make a scoop and mount it to the roof and duct the air down to the engine.
Old 10-06-2012, 07:21 PM

Default ditto

Yea i think im going to mockup a more form fitting one out of cardbaord and then fab it out of fiberglass resin n cloth?
Old 10-06-2012, 08:19 PM
Lite Contributor

I think I might make mine out of sheet metal mainly cause I'm an hvac tech and have access to plenty of it at a great price, free.
Old 10-07-2012, 07:31 AM
Power User

I think your idea is a sound one; i wouldn't go quite as far as to call it ram air, (talking as a Pontiac muscle car gearhead) as while you are likely putting more air into the engine area for the intake to draw from, it may not be coming in at a much greater pressure and the CV carbs as we've seen from people trying to snorkel them, don't seem to like having long, sealed air feed tracts. The carb is basically going to drawn in air at the rate it's designed for. Once the air dumps out of the tubing, it'll revert back to atmospheric pressure pretty quickly--if it hasn't done that inside already.

If its location is creating a pressure differential at speed because of "blockage" with less available air, then the ram air would work. Same holds true for air temp--if the surrounding air is hotter because of the engine, then the fresh/cooler feed would help.