BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > General Mini Buggy and Go Kart Forums > Mini Buggy General Discussion

Mini Buggy General Discussion General Discussion forum for Mini Buggies. (American Sportworks, HammerHead, Carter, etc)

Old 02-09-2012, 01:30 PM
Lite Contributor

Default Manco vs. Other Brands Like Baja

I am new to all of this but based on the ads I have seen it seems that most mini dune buggies (Kandi, Coolster, Baja, etc.) are using a knockoff of a Honda GY6 engine and CVT. They seem to be rated between 8 and 9.5 hp when you look at specs.

Whenever I see ads for Manco (and Yerf Dog) it looks like the engine is rated in horsepower rather than cc's. Many have Subaru Robin engines in 6.5 (169cc), 9 hp (265 cc).

My question is how do you compare these. Is a 6.5 (169cc) Robin engine comparable in power and performance to a 150cc GY6 (rated at 8 hp)? Is a 9 hp Robin (265cc) really in the same class as a 250cc buggy?

I feel like I am comparing apples and oranges. Can someone please fill me in on this. Thank you for any help.
Old 02-09-2012, 01:44 PM
Power User

It is difficult to get a good "statement" of hp with the GY6 engines. They're high-revving engines--up to 10,000 that are more "top end" compared to the lawnmower style horizontals. The mower styles have good strong bottom end grunt but are all in by 3500-4,000 rpm in stock form. It is an apples to oranges comparison, an automotive analogy would be comparing small displacement short stroke, small bore vs big cubes with long stroke and big bores.
The choice comes down to riding style and terrain, what you like working on and what you like listening to. These nuts around here just converted me to a GY6 mill that i have yet to try out ... I'm from the big cubes and stump pulling torque makes the world go round camp ....