BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > General Mini Buggy and Go Kart Forums > Go Kart General Discussion

Go Kart General Discussion Forum for general go kart discussion.

Old 10-29-2020, 06:41 AM
Lurker

Default Help, please

I have a 150cc gy6 motor in my kart and it starts and idles great but under load it will stall out in about a minute. It will have to sit for a minute before it will start again and the pattern repeats. I have cleaned the carb jets, replaced the CDI, fuel filter and air box with filter - just looking for more trouble shooting ideas as I am a newbie
Old 10-29-2020, 10:22 AM
Supporting Vendor

Check for spark when it dies.
Old 10-30-2020, 06:17 AM
Lurker

Sorry for the delay in my response, I had to go home and try it. It appears to have a spark when it stalls out. I broke the spark plug wire and had to order a new one. But any ideas you have I will try as soon as I replace that wire. Thanks for your time
Old 10-30-2020, 09:48 AM
Supporting Vendor

If you have a good blue spark after eng. dies make sure your enrichment valve has a good connection and with engine running make sure you have 12 volts to enrichment valve. It could be that when it dies it is due to valve remaining open when engine warms causing a rich mixture flooding engine.
Old 10-30-2020, 01:36 PM
Lurker

I will check and let you know. Thanks a million, it does die out like it is being flooded. It will take me a few days.
Old 11-03-2020, 06:38 PM
Lurker

Well, the choke seems to be working okay. I ran the engine hard until it stalls out and the plunger assembly in the choke is pushed out like it supposed to be. Any other ideas?
Old 11-04-2020, 09:37 PM
Administrator