BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > Other tech issues

Other tech issues For all other technical issues. Think frame, suspension, steering, brakes, etc

Old 06-30-2010, 08:55 PM
Lurker

Default Heim joint kit

I need someones advice on this kit.Im not sure if these are strong enough to do that ball joint mod Ckau and Rarerat did. I thought the kit looked pretty good for $19.95.http://www.vxb.com/page/bearings/PROD/Kit216 I have a Yerf Dog 32092 that I've been working on for a few months now.
Old 07-01-2010, 01:13 AM
Super Moderator

I'll throw out an opinion- It's a fair price for 4 heims and 12mm is just under 3/8".There isn't any nuts (left hand thread may be hard to find) and doesn't tell you the thread count - can you find a bung for whatever the thread count is? No data on load capacity and this site sells parts for light wieght stuff. I wouldn't buy them unless you can get more info. off the site.
I'm definitely doing this upgrade that Ckau so nicely provided as a fix for the ball joints. I've done some serious research for loads and sizing. I think Ckau wanted to use a larger heim as I would have but as it turns out the bung for a 1/2" heim is much larger than the tube on the A-arm, so 3/8" is appropriate and capacities range from 7,600lbs to 26,000lbs.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:40 AM
Contributor

The Heims I used were 3/8 and came with the jam nuts for about the same price. Metalstudman1 is right about the bungs, they are very hard to find and I ended up using 3/8 couplers from a hardware store because I couldn't even find the right size tubing locally to make my own bungs. I also agree about the strength, the Heims I used were rated at 5521 load capacity. IMHO it would be better to install a heim that may be stronger than you need than find out what you installed was to weak.