BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > General Mini Buggy and Go Kart Forums > Mini Buggy General Discussion

Mini Buggy General Discussion General Discussion forum for Mini Buggies. (American Sportworks, HammerHead, Carter, etc)

Old 03-29-2012, 05:26 PM
Lurker

Default Newbie with spiderbox questions

Hello everybody, I'm new to the buggy world. I just got my 1st buggy a yerf 3206. It has the typical front end issues, & 1 I don't think is common.

As you can see the bulkhead had the rack & pinion mount completly broken off. The previous owner said he had it welded (I didn't see much evidence), then he JB welded it ??? finally he put 2 bolts into the gusset. I have done some research & plan on "beefing" the bulk head, should I find a different bulk head to reinforce or just repair this one while reinforcing? I myself am not a welder, but have several friends who are.

My next question is, I have the "uneven A-arms" should I change to "even"? The knuckles seem fairly HD looking for any 1st or 2nd gen knuckles I've seen. Of course HD ball joints are on the way I ordered sum from a industrial supplier, and will make my own "washers" (tool maker by trade).

My last question (for now) is about the angle on the tie-rod should it be this steep?

My 1st goal is to make the buggy safe (bought as family toy "wink, wink").
Front end rebuild, new swing arm bushings & probably shocks all the way around, then engine/drive train tuning can begin. Mainly flat terrain, some trails, sometimes mud.

Thanks in advance.
Rex
Old 03-29-2012, 11:02 PM
Super Moderator