BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > General Mini Buggy and Go Kart Forums > Mini Buggy General Discussion

Mini Buggy General Discussion General Discussion forum for Mini Buggies. (American Sportworks, HammerHead, Carter, etc)

Old 04-15-2012, 09:18 PM
Lurker

Default Basic Buggie Questions

I am not a true newbie to off road buggies, but I have been out of it for quite awhile and have not kept up with the newer machines & manufacturers.

Maybe a long winded explanation so please be patient.

My wife and I are now empty nesters. We used to camp and hike a lot when the kids were small but we got out of the habit when they hit high school. We are wanting to get back into it but those hills seem a lot steeper than they did 10-15 years ago.

What I want is a two seater buggy with a full roll cage (no “open” ATV). The idea is for us both to ride up to the top of the mountain with the two of us, a small cooler, and my not so often used lately mountain bicycle. She would then drive down and I would ride the bike back down. Max Speed does not matter, just that it can get us up there and clear small obstacles. So with all of this I am estimating a max load of 500 lbs.

I have been looking for used ones but most of the sellers don't have an idea of the make/model, much less the ratings. I am seeing either a lot of junk, small ones, and then you move up into the Razors, which are way too expensive for what I want to do right now.

The other thing is that I know the US Forest Service has implemented some requirements on OHV. But I have been unable to find a brochure on line.