BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > Other tech issues

Other tech issues For all other technical issues. Think frame, suspension, steering, brakes, etc

Old 10-26-2015, 03:37 PM
Lurker

Default Kandi GKM-3 rear sprocket removal??

Hey guys.
I am a newb here and just found this site a week ago. We have recently purchased a new Kandi GKM-3. Awesome buggy and we have had no issues with it yet and we run it pretty hard!! A was looking at the rear drive sprocket and thinking about replacing it with a lil bigger one from the local farm store. They have many #50 industrial ones to choose from for more low end pulling power. First question is will the #50 industrial sprocket be the same pitch for the chain that comes on these karts? Im assuming they must be #530 motorcycle chain on these from the factory. SECOND question is I can't figure out for the life of me how you remove the sprocket (or the brake disc) from the axle once you unbolt them from the 4 bolt holders that are welded solid to the axle? It almost appears that they assembled the axle complety and then slid the bearings and bearing carriers on each end, bolted them to the hanger, THEN welded the hanger to the box swing arm on the rear. Even if I remove the 3 bolt bearing carriers and bearings, there wont be enough room to slide the axles out of either side because the sprocket hub and the disc hub that are welded to the axle wont fit through the hole where the bearings are. Not near big enough. Do you have to cut the bearing hanger off one side to remove the axle and slide the sprocket off and then reweld it or what??? Please any feedback is really appreciated guys.
Old 10-26-2015, 03:51 PM
Heavy Contributor

530 and #50 will interchange. As far as getting the axle off, can you remove the bearing from the axle?