BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > 150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech

150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech GY6 and Smaller Technical Discussion Forum

Old 04-03-2017, 11:46 AM
Lurker

Default 150cc GY6 hard to start

I bought a used American Sportworks Carbide 150cc buggy (gy6 engine off) off craigslist a year ago. Ever since I bought it, its been hard to get it started. I’m new to this motor/carb (and inexperienced in this area in general), but I try to DIY as much as I can, so hoping you guys can point me in the right direction.

I’ll try to describe it as best I can…Even with a charged battery and fresh gas, it takes a while of cranking (usually a minute or so) to get it started. After 15 seconds or so, it will start to sputter and act like its going to crank, but just wont all the way. I’ll try giving it some gas, at that seems to help some, but it takes forever to get it to where it will stay cranked up, and even then, I have to hold down the gas a bit for a couple minutes to warm it up some, because if I take my foot off the gas, it will sputter out. And even after that, it will still sputter out sometimes until we ride it for 5-10 minutes to really warm it up.

Once its warmed up, I can turn it off and crank it back up pretty quickly. But once it sits for 20-30 minutes, its back to it taking forever to crank.

I have noticed that when the engine is cold and I try to crank it, that sometimes in the middle of the typical sound it makes when trying to crank it that I’ll hear a weird kind of sound almost like a goose with laryngitis honking. It will usually just do this once or twice for a half second, and then I’ll sometimes hear it again 10 seconds later. Dunno if this is indicative of anything or not.

But I'm kinda curious if you guys think its just the carb gummed up, or some other issue.