BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > General Mini Buggy and Go Kart Forums > Mini Buggy General Discussion

Mini Buggy General Discussion General Discussion forum for Mini Buggies. (American Sportworks, HammerHead, Carter, etc)

Old 03-26-2011, 09:42 PM
Lurker

Default murray kilowatt

i have a friend with a murray kilowatt that will sell it to me for $200 i cant find anything i found parts and their cheap its got the 6.5 tec motor not big at all

what i want to know is im 6'2 300 lbs can i fit in the cart it looks big

also has any one put a 18 hp or bigger motor on these carts thats what i want to do
Old 03-27-2011, 07:43 AM
Lurker

From what I understand those buggies/karts have a great platform to do a engine swap. If it were me, i would use a street bike engine or maybe even a snowmobile engine, they love to rev. Just what I have heard, I have no experience with them.
Old 03-27-2011, 12:07 PM
Super Moderator

Since I bought one of these from Buggymaster and did some minor suspension mod's to one I'd agree that you could put a much healthier engine on it. As for your length and weight it would be a squeeze. The 18hp engine swap would fit no problem. I'm half your weight and 5'-8" -seat was all the way back and I bottomed out the back shocks leading to the suspension mods. The 6.5 TEC motor is plenty strong- Understand that with the lawnmower type engines you are limited to 3500-3600rpms no matter the size, so the gain with a bigger motor is torque. If it hadn't been stolen I would have put an ATV motor in it for my kids as the got older/bigger.
Old 03-27-2011, 01:14 PM
Lurker

ya it runs i wish i could buy a 300ex motor and put on it i plan to put a 300 or 400ex shocks on it for my weight i just dont know about the fit i guess i will see befor i buy
Old 03-27-2011, 07:00 PM
Super Moderator