BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > 150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech

150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech GY6 and Smaller Technical Discussion Forum

Old 01-16-2017, 04:00 PM
Lurker

Default Problem with almost new Trailmaster MID XRX

I have a Trailmaster MID XRX with a 200cc engine that I bought right around Thanksgiving. Almost immediately, I started having issues with it bogging down and dying when it is being rode hard for awhile. The kart will refuse to start again until it is given several minutes to sit, then fires right up. Over time of letting it rest and restarting it, the issue will get worse and worse until I can barely limp it back to the house and let it rest for a good long while. The issue happens on both bumpy and smooth driving (happened once out on the road). Talking to some friends, we think that it may be heat or carburetor flooding related since it needs several minutes to be ready to restart.

It's never been left unused for more than a week since I got it and I've been putting Seafoam in the gas tank the whole time, so I'd be shocked if it was a gummed up carburetor already.

Any suggestions on what to try or where to start?
Old 01-16-2017, 05:33 PM
Heavy Contributor

Check your fuel flow. It may be a clogged vent cap or restriction in the petcock or fuel filter.
Old 01-16-2017, 07:55 PM
Supporting Vendor